top of page

Goodbye Northern Ireland

I leave tomorrow, and my heart is torn. On the one side I am beyond ready to see my family and friends, to hug my dog, to play music again, to be with my home church, to sleep in my room, etc. On the other side the thought of leaving the Northern Irish, the internationals, the city life, and the place itself hurts me. So instead of being sad I think I would like to write a thank you letter to all of those that have been with me on this wonderful journey in Northern Ireland.

To My Dear Home

First and foremost, I would like to thank my dear family and friends back home. From talking to them it seems like this three months might have been a little tougher on them. I do know I had a lot more to preoccupy my mind with while I was here so thank you for always calling me even when the time difference was inconvenient. Your prayers have done wonders, I can assure you. My mom was always reassuring me of my purpose while I've been here: always after I told her a story of how God was moving she would say, "See Annie, this is why the Lord brought you there". Thank you to my friends for furthering the Kingdom back home while He was furthering it here, and always making me laugh and helping me remember the good things to come in the Spring. All of you have been my rock these three months, and without my home I don't know if I would have made it over here.

To My Wonderful Schools

I think it very appropriate to thank both my home and international universities. Thank you University of the Ozarks for opening this opportunity to me to come to Belfast. Even though I was your "guinea pig" coming in, both of us not really knowing how this whole Irish-American scholars thing would work, you still gave me the chance to try it out and I can say with full confidence that you provided me with some of the best three months of my life. To Stranmillis University College, you have become a new home for me and I know it is not the last time you will see me. You gave me friends from all of the world, professors that genuinely care about others, the friendliest cooks a girl can ask for, a Pantomime, the Christian Union, but most importantly you provided me with some of the kindest, Northern Irish people I have ever met in my life. Both schools fully supported me, and for that I am eternally grateful.

To My Sweet Hansel and Gretel

I would also like to specifically thank all those involved in the Pantomime, Hansel and Gretel. You guys became my family at Stran (how could we not though, those were some serious hours we put in). Never once did I feel like an outsider, and that is 100% thanks to all of you. You helped me truly understand Irish humor, see a new side of culture here, made my head grow two sizes too big (seriously guys, you're almost TOO nice), and never failed to make me smile. Show week was quite possibly the most fun I've ever had and all of you are the sole reason I know I will be back in Northern Ireland time and time again. So although it is time to close the book on Hansel and Gretel, I know for a fact that our stories will cross paths again, I will make sure of it.

To My Darling Northern Irish

Oh gosh, this one is hard. From the coffee dates, to the home visits, to the sheep farms, to the long talks on the sidewalks, you have always taken care of me. Your accents are lovely no matter what you might think and your hearts are even more so. I have never met a group of people as wonderful as you all and I cannot tell you how much I am going to miss you (I hope you know that I am sobbing in a cafe right now and some old people are looking at me like my dog just died). I would live here forever if that's what the Lord wanted, but I know my time here is done for now. I will see soon, I know I will, but please remember this if you remember anything at all from the last three months: The Lord loves you so much, that's why He let me come meet you. It blows me away how much He does, because you have all been a gift...a wonderful wonderful gift that I will forever cherish. I love you all so much, and cannot wait to be back you with you having a good craic.

To My Fellow Internationals

We started this thing together. We all came in as foreigners (although I guess technically we still are) but I feel like we have all made this place a home together. I don't know about you but I don't feel so foreign anymore, and you guys were a huge help in that. Thank you for putting up with this stereotypical "loud American". Thank you for not always asking me about Donald Trump (you have no idea how many times I've been asked that). Thank you for always being the first people to go on adventures with me and always being willing to do a Tesco run. Although I've gotten to know some better than others you are all very dear to my heart. I have made lifelong friends through you all and I cannot wait to come visit you someday in your homes, and I hope you will get to come see mine as well. Just like the Northern Irish, I want you all to know that the only reason I got to meet you is because of the Lord. He loves you all so immensely and I hope that someday you might love Him just as much. You are all a joy and a gift to me and I love you all very much. How about we all go get matching tattoos together reading "Margaret"...No? Just me? Too weird? Okay, bye.

To My Loving Father

Finally, all thanks go to the Lord. He sent me here with a purpose to love anyone I came across and He exceeded all my expectations. He blessed me with some of the loveliest people I've ever met. He saved at least three young women and has touched countless more. He showed me how different cultures see Him but that He stays the same no matter what. His love is for everyone. Everyone. He loves the Irish, the homeless, the Danish. He shows himself everywhere. He's back home, He's in Belfast, He's in Navan 5, He's in the heart's of two Swiss and a German. He is worth everything. Our time, our relationships, our lives, and He was definitely worth this trip. Thank you sweet Father of mine for showing me your character every day these past three months. You didn't have to, but you gave me a lifelong dream and I will never forget that.

Sincerely (with a 'wee bit' of love),

Annie


bottom of page