top of page

We're Halfway There


The thought of leaving sweet Ireland gets harder and harder every day. I am a little over halfway done with my trip now and the sense of urgency is starting to set in. Urgency to go places I haven't been to yet, urgency to get to know my friends even more, urgency to FINALLY touch a sheep, and most importantly urgency to love everyone I come across like my Father would. But so much has already happened in the month and a half that I have been here that I know it can only get so much sweeter in the month and half to come. So I thought the halfway point would be a good time to recap on a few of my favorite memories from Northern Ireland thus far. Here we go!

Random Day Adventures

Living in Northern Ireland has definitely given me a new found love for walking (Maddi and Mom, looks like I've joined the club). Luckily I have found friends here that love the nature and scenery just as much as I do so we have found ourselves on many nice days taking buses to different places all around Northern Ireland to hike and explore what it has to offer. From going to forests, to walking along beaches, then climbing up a mountain, to walking along a river bank, this place has given me a little bit of every type of nature I could ask for. There isn't one specific memory that is more important than the other but I do know that collectively they have all been so special to my experience here.

The Church

It is alive and well here. I have found beautiful community and fellowship here because of the obedience of my dear Irish brothers and sisters. Through women asking time and time again to have coffee with me to talk about the Lord, to late night McDonald trips after church (you think Americans are nuts about McDonalds, wait to you hang out with the Northern Irish...I had to make a second bank account just for my trips to this place) I have seen how purposeful and loving the people here are towards not only fellow believers but to absolutely everyone they meet. Going to the Christian Union on campus and Newtownbreda Baptist Church on Sundays has been some of the most special times with the Lord I've had here. He is very present in this place that needs healing, and I know that it is through the loving college students I have met that He is going to be made known for years to come after I leave.

The Galway Boys

Here's a story: So on the first night of my 5 day southern Ireland road trip we stayed in Galway, Ireland. This town is cute enough as is but as we are walking around we turned the corner and heard some very classic Irish music (not very uncommon) but when we saw who is playing it is not some bearded, Irish old men like we are accustomed to, but rather the cutest little Irish boys I think I have ever seen in my entire life. These boys were brothers to make the cuteness go off the charts, wearing Irish caps, and played a banjo, accordion, drum/flute, and their father played the guitar. But that is not all! They also did a little Irish jig for us! I will admit to you all that I shamelessly cried--like the woman next to me asked if I was okay. This Oklahoman could not HANDLE the amount of cute coming her way. LOOK AT THEM! (Below)

Car Troubles

On the second day of our road trip we had a little bump in road (quite literally). Driving down a very narrow road with rocky hills on our left and then a very steep drop without railing on our right a car was driving in the middle of the road coming toward us, and sweet Charlotte being our driver swerved to miss him forcing us to go over some rocks on the left and then popping both of the left side tires. Charlotte made all the right decisions to keep us safe but sadly the man did not stop to help us. Now you are probably thinking, "Annie you nut! How could this be one of your favorite memories?" Well I'm glad you asked. Although it was very scary and turned into a very long day of getting help from very kind Irish men, when we first got out of the car and caught our breath one of the girls that was on the trip with us looked at me and said "Annie, I'm glad you were in that car with us". Now, I know she was probably joking, but do you see how the Lord was so glorified in that situation? Through almost getting hit and getting two tires destroyed my dear friend saw that the Lord was in that car with us through me just being there. What an amazing thing that is! If the only reason I came to Ireland was to get those two tires blown out so that she could see how wonderful and caring the Lord is, well then that would be just fine with me. I learned so much from it, that He can be glorified in absolutely every situation.

Just Being Internationals

Some of my most favorite memories are the random ones. Going to Haunted Houses that aren't nearly as scary as the walk there, always searching for candy wherever we go, introducing people from around the world to Hocus Pocus (an American classic people), getting scared by security guards walking in right at the most stressful part of Stranger Things and screaming right at the poor man, and always staying up way later than we should talking about anything and everything on our minds, especially our future weddings. We always seem to be laughing, always trying to figure out the Irish slang, and always remember our homes and explaining them to others starting with "someday you will see..." because I know that it is true---Someday I will see the Swiss mountains Charlotte always dreams of, experience the German people Klara, Louisa, and "all the other Germans" (much love ladies, but there are like a million of you) talk about, and taste all of the Danish food Lea always drools over. I came to Ireland thinking I was coming to love on the Irish, which is true, but I see how much the Lord truly cares about the international students and why He wanted me to become one and it makes me fall in love them more and more every day. Can I be an international student forever, please?

So here's to 5 more weeks of dreamy landscapes and crazy shenanigans with all of the wonderful people with me here in Northern Ireland. If it is even remotely as great as it already has been than I am in for a real treat. Until then, cheers!


bottom of page