top of page

Once Upon a Time...


I have big news. Weird news. News that when I told my mother she was probably thinking to herself, "Annie, what on earth are you doing"? Secretly though I must admit that I am thinking the same thing..."Annie, what on earth are you doing?! You are already in Ireland for 3 months, taking classes that are all incredibly foreign to you, and trying to do mission work all at the same time!" Well, if you guys know me at all you know that I am completely crazy and at times a little too ambitious but, like I've said, I have big news that I cannot wait to tell you.

I'm Getting Married

Did you believe me? It's okay Mimi, take a breather---it was a joke! Okay no I'm not getting married (wouldn't that be big news!) but I am excited about the news I do have for you! For all my dear American friends though, I'll need to explain a little bit more for you to understand what exactly I've gotten myself into.

Here in the United Kingdom there is a concept, event, or shall we say production called a Pantomime that is put on all over the place, including my university here in Belfast. Pantomimes consist of acting, singing, dancing, comedy, improv...basically anything artsy that can be done is done on stage during a pantomime. Stories vary with wherever you are seeing the show, but Stranmillis this year is putting on a pantomime production of Hansel and Gretel. From what I understand, this is one of the biggest events put on by my university and is sold out almost every night. There will be fourteen shows altogether within one week, performing at schools and within the community. The news then that I have for you is that this school was crazy enough to cast me as the Narrator and I can say that I haven't been this giddy about a production since doing Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs in my living room for my parents as a child.

I first heard about this production during a freshmen meeting that all of the international students attended before classes started. I was hooked once they said "production"---the extrovert in me was going nuts. I never thought that I was actually going to try for it though. I've had a secret dream my whole life to be a part of a play or show with something more than just music (seeing as music was all I've ever known). So once the night came for the official meeting and auditions, I really just went to see how the orchestra for the show was going to work. Once they began talking of the concept though, I knew I was going to try for a part even if it didn't seem possible or even wise to join.

The Auditions

The auditions were legit---like Hollywood style. People everywhere practicing parts, singing, and looking like they were about to barf (myself included). Seeing as I was going for a more minor character, the narrator, my auditions were not until quite a bit later so everyone socialized and waited anxiously for their chance to wow the directors and get that call-back.

To make a long story short, my first audition consisted of enthusiastic cheers from the directors finding out that I was an American and Oklahoman, the group of us then singing "Oklahoma", and finally me reading through the lines provided. I felt good and was genuinely fine with getting a call-back or not. Either way I was just excited about being involved with the show in any way that I could be. I got the call-back that night though and was both incredibly happy and anxious.

The second night was much less stressful. The group of us that had received call-backs were all able to cheer one another on as we went in and out of auditions and talk of the food we all wanted but could not get because we were stuck in that room waiting to be called in. It was exhausting yet exhilarating and once I finally got called in, I performed the best that I could, only wanting what the Lord wanted out of this situation. I am happy to report that I did receive the part though---the Narrator of Hansel and Gretel.

The Narrator

I woke up the next morning feeling guilty. I believed that I was only doing this to satisfy myself and was living for the world just like my old self had always done. I thought that there was no way that receiving this role could be from the Lord. I was believing a lie. Satan is the father of lies, you see (John 8:44). This is something that has been pounded into my brain my whole life but a concept that I never fully accepted until recently. Feeling guilty and so confused at what I should do I opened my devotion and the Lord, so perfect as He is, showed me precisely what I needed to know. That day the reading was on joy and how any true happiness and joy is from Him. It stated, "God blesses each of us in different ways and at different times, according to our needs and according to our mission". At that moment I started sobbing. I'm talking ugly crying to the max. He is so gracious to have shown me that it is okay to be happy and celebrate accomplishments in this world. Why? Because I know He is going to use this to glorify Himself. I am going to give this pantomime everything I have, so that in that, others may see Him through me. I cannot wait to love my fellow cast members, the audience, and anyone that may be involved precisely as Christ would. God is the narrator of my life, and it is my joy to narrate this show in His name and proclaim those magical four words, "Once upon a time."

The Cast of 2017 Pantomime Hansel and Gretel


bottom of page